Marine Sanctuary Map

map of the 13 marine protected areas in the United States, that comprise the National Marine Sanctuary system
NOAA/Office of National Marine Sanctuaries

The United States has a network of protected areas in the waters off our coasts. From the chilly waves on Washington's Olympic Coast to the warm shallows ringing the Florida Keys, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) maintains 13 National Marine Sanctuaries and co-manages one Marine National Monument. These, together with marine protected areas designated by local governments, are a crucial tool in managing ocean resources.

Learn more about the National Marine Sanctuaries and how they are used as a tool for conservation, restoration, and protection.